Organizing During COVID-19

We are taking steps on the local, state, and federal level to address the immediate needs of our community and build power for a long-term economic response. Learn more about how you can get involved.

Locally

1. See our comprehensive guide to community resources

2. Renters Rights and Protections

The Spokane Alliance has teamed up with the Tenants Union of Washington State, the Spokane Low-Income Housing Coalition (SLIHC), and Greater Spokane Progress to work together for stronger protections for tenants during this crisis.

Tenants are seeing an unprecedented loss of employment and income during this crisis.  Those most impacted by this pandemic are hourly wage earners in non-essential work who were laid off and those in the service industry whose hours and pay were drastically reduced and who disproportionately rent their homes. The racial divide in home ownership which is greater in Spokane than the state of Washington and nation means that people of color disproportionately rent their homes and also live at greater risk of housing instability during the health crisis. These are the same communities that lack access and opportunities to jobs where working at home is an option and who have greater health risks associated with COVID-19. Evictions are temporarily halted by state and city emergency moratoriums but rent is still due. 

While there is currently a moratorium on evictions in Spokane and Washington we are calling on the City of Spokane, City of Spokane Valley, and Spokane County to: 

  1. Allow renters 12 months to pay back rent with no penalties or interest accrued after the moratorium on evictions is ended.
  2. Establish a rental assistance program. The government entity (County, City and Valley) should pay 80% of what is owed directly to the landlord in agreement for just cause protections and no rent increases until 2021.

We have an opportunity to act now while the Spokane City Council is considering similar action. Please join us in sending an email or by calling your local elected officials. Below you will find a sample script and the relevant contact information.

Sample Script/Email:

Hi,

My name is ________ (member of organization) (I am a renter in _________). I’m reaching out today to encourage you to take two important steps to provide some protection and relief to tenants during this uncertain and vulnerable time. Please act to: 

1)     Allow renters 12 months to pay back rent with no penalties, interest accrued, or rent increases after the moratorium on evictions is ended.

2)     Set up a rental assistance program. The government entity (County, City and Valley) should pay 80% of what is owed directly to the landlord in agreement for just cause protections until 2021.

This is important to me because ______________________.

Thank you,

___________

Spokane County Commissioners - (509) 477-2265

Chair – Al Frenchafrench@spokanecounty.org

Mary Kuney - mkuney@spokanecounty.org

Josh Kerns - jkerns@spokanecounty.org

 

City of Spokane

Mayor – Nadine Woodward - mayor@spokanecity.org(509) 625-6250

City Council Main Line – (509) 625-6255

Council President – Breean Beggs - bbeggs@spokanecity.org

Karen Stratton - kstratton@spokanecity.org

Candace Mumm - cmumm@spokanecity.org

Betsy Wilkerson - bwilkerson@spokanecity.org

Lori Kinnear - lkinnear@spokanecity.org

Kate Burke - kateburke@spokanecity.org

Michael Cathcart - mcathcart@spokanecity.org

 

City of Spokane Valley

Mayor – Ben Wick - bwick@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5065

City Council

Brandi Peetz - bpeetz@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5064

Tim Hattenburg - thattenburg@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5063

Linda Thompson - lthompson@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5061

Pam Haley - phaley@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5060

Arne Woodard - awoodard@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5062

Rod Higgins - rhiggins@spokanevalley.org(509) 720-5066

 

 


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.